Oddest Metaphor in the Bible

So I’m working on the Isa 14 variants today and I came across a peculiar metaphor in v. 23:

וטאטאתיה במטאטא השמד

That’s right. “I will sweep it with the broom of destruction.” The Greek translator(s) obviously had the same thought I had (“That’s dumb”), and gave us the following instead:

καὶ ἔσται εἰς οὐδέν· καὶ θήσω αὐτὴν πηλοῦ βάραθρον εἰς ἀπώλειαν

“And it will become nothing, and I will make it a mired pit of destruction.”

The Targums aren’t quite as creative (for once):

ואהממנה כמא דמהממין במבינא ואתבבינה לשיצאה

“And I will sweep it as those who sweep with a broom, and I will turn it over to destruction.”

The Vulgate is also pretty boring:

et scopabo eam in scopa terens

“And I will sweep it, wearing it out with a broom.”

Are any of you aware of a goofier metaphor than this?


Leave a Reply

