How Many People Will Ever Read My Thesis?

I was browsing PhD Comics, as I am wont to do, and I ran across one that’s right in my wheelhouse:

Of course, the few people who will be reading it will be the people determining whether or not I get a degree.


5 responses to “How Many People Will Ever Read My Thesis?

  • Nick Norelli

    What are you writing your thesis on?

  • Daniel O. McClellan

    It’s a bit of textual criticism and historical criticism. I’m looking at alleged anti-anthropomorphisms in LXX Exodus and I’m going to argue that most of them should be best understood as originating in the Vorlage and not in the exegesis of the translator. Then I’ll look at the development of the idea of an invisible deity in Judaism to show it’s not necessarily the product of Hellenistic Judaism and that it has more to do with God’s transcendence than a theology of incorporeality.

  • Steve Wiggins

    If you end up publishing your thesis (I’ll use a little wisdom from Mellon Press here — I am not affiliated, however!) you’ll likely sell around 300 copies. These will go to university libraries and, depending on the overall interest, you could find yourself read by a few thousand people over the years. Not quite Dan Brown exposure, but it is more than many authors get!

    • Daniel O. McClellan

      I’m going to see if the Journal of Jewish Studies will publish it. It’s a long shot, but I live around and work with, like, four of the people in charge of it. For this master’s program the thesis is only 15,000 words, so it shouldn’t be difficult to get it into shape for a journal.

  • WalkerW

    Keep us posted with your thesis. And for sure let us know if the Journal of Jewish Studies picks it up.

Leave a Reply

